top of page
Search

New Face at ICHS: Zya Washington

Victoria Schiller '21

Zya Washington is a vibrant and social freshman at Immaculate Conception High School this year. When assigned this project, I instantly used my fall sport as an advantage and decided to ask a freshman on the team. I asked Zya who was immediately interested in the project. I knew it would be fun due to our similar personalities, and it just so happens we have the same gas station order! I asked her a series of questions that ranged from food choices to the new and controversial eighty minute class periods. I not only got to know some facts about a newbie at IC, but I realized how much I miss freshman year and all it entails!


Q: What is your zodiac sign?

A: Cancer.


Q: Starbucks and/or Dunkin order?

A: Vanilla Bean Frappuccino and vanilla scones.


Q: Gas station order!?

A: 2 bags of Flamin' Hot Cheetos and chocolate milk!


Q: What are you most excited/looking forward to during your freshman year?

A: I am looking forward to the basketball season and the whole experience of it really!


Q: What made you want to come to IC?

A: The vibe I got from the school was really good and I felt like it was the best place for me.


Q: Did you come from Catholic school or Public school?

A: I came from a Catholic school.


Q: How do you feel about attending an all girls school?

A: It was kind of weird at first, but I’ve gotten used to it over time.


Q: How are the 80 minute classes?

A: They can be tiring at times, but it gets better as the year goes on.


Q: What classes are you taking and which is your favorite?

A: I am taking English 1, Algebra 1, Religion 1, World History 1, and Art 1. My favorite class is Art!


Q: Have you tried the cafeteria cookies or brownies? Which is your favorite!?

A: Yes I have tried the cookies and the brownies and they are really really good!


Being able to interview Zya not only allowed me to reflect on my freshman year, but it showed me how I might have thought as a newbie four years ago. Zya was a perfect fit for the interview! She answered truthfully, kept things short and sweet, and gave me the opportunity to jump back in time to my first month at IC!


36 views0 comments
bottom of page